HISTORY OF NFC - 1930 - 1939

Norwood finished third on the ladder after winning 11 games, losing 6 and drawing 1.
Walter Scott won the Club Champion award for the sixth time, equalled by Michael Taylor in 1986.
Representatives for the Australian Carnival in Adelaide were Walter Scott (captain), Alick Lill,
Heinrich Krome and Gordon Barbary.
Norwood won the Reserves Premiership, defeating Port Adelaide 7-17 to 8-10.

Norwood won 9 games and lost 9 to finish in fourth spot on the ladder.

Norwood finished third on the ladder, winning 11 games and losing 8.
Walter Scott played the last of his 175 games for Norwood (a club record).
Scott also played 38 State games, played in 4 premiership teams, won three Magarey Medals,
a member of the Australian Football Hall of Fame, SANFL Hall of Fame, Norwood Hall of Fame,
and selected in the Norwood Team of the Century.

Winning 12 games, losing 7 and drawing 2 was enough to find Norwood in the Grand Final.
Unfortunately, Norwood lost to West Torrens, 9-11 to 13-10, our last Grand Final for 8 seasons.
Gordon Wait was awarded the Reserves Magarey Medal.
Representatives for the Australian Carnival in Sydney were Perc McCallum and Clarence Curyer.

Norwood won only 5 matches and lost 12 to finish in seventh position on the ladder.

1931 Magarey Medallist Jack Sexton was named captain-coach but had to retire after 6 games due
to ill health, passing away at the end of the season.
Despite the setback, Norwood finished in fourth position with 11 wins and 7 losses.
Hubert 'Tom' Warhurst kicked 10 goals against North Adelaide at Adelaide Oval, July 6.
Mr Justice Piper vacated the role as Patron due to ill health after serving as President 1911--1919,
then as Patron 1920-1935.
Thomas Seymour Hill had been Norwood Secretary from 1926-1935 and was appointed Secretary
of the SANFL until 1963, the SANFL premiership trophy named in his honour.

Norwood finished fifth, winning 10 games and losing 7.
Bill McCallum won the League Magarey Medal and Jack Butler won the Tomkins Medal in the
Thirds (Under 19s) competition.
Eric H Tassie passed away unexpectedly aged 48, having served the Norwood Football Club in
various roles from 1912-1936, and was President of the Australian National Football Council from
The Tassie Medal was struck in his honour, awarded to best player at each AFC Carnival.

Norwood won 13 games and lost 6 to finish third on the ladder.
Tom Woodroofe was named vice captain for South Australia for the Australian Carnival in Perth.
Other representatives were Bill McCallum and Albert 'Pongo' Sawley.
Bruce Schultz kicked his 300th goal with a bag of 13 against Glenelg at Glenelg Oval, July 31.
The side's two prolific goal kickers. Ron Brown and Bruce Schultz created a league record for two
players in the one team when they kicked 95 and 93 goals respectively for the season.
Ron Brown (95 goals) passed 'Bos' Daly's 1893 record for most number of goals in a season.
Norwood kicked a record high score of 31-9 (195) against Glenelg at Adelaide Oval, August 28.
Norwood won the Reserves Premiership, defeating Port Adelaide 10-15 to 9-7.

Norwood won 13 games and lost 6 to finish third on the ladder.
Norwood won their first game at Alberton Oval since 1922 by a solitary point on August 6.
Bruce Schultz kicked 12 goals in a match twice in 2 games.
Norwood v Port Adelaide on the June holiday attracted 28,000 spectators, a new league record.
Reserves full forward Sid Loader kicked 130 goals for the season with bags of 21,19,12 and 10.
Hubert 'Tom' Warhurst became the first athlete in the state to play interstate football and tennis.
Norwood won the Reserves Premiership, defeating Port Adelaide 16-11 to 15-14.

Norwood won 11 games and lost 7 to finish fourth on the ladder.
Bruce Schultz kicked 11 goals against Glenelg at Norwood Oval, May 20.
Stan Taylor was awarded the Reserves Magarey Medal.
Bruce Schultz created a new club record of 98 goals in a season.
Norwood won the Reserves Premiership, defeating North Adelaide 11-13 to 9-15.
James Gosse served the final year as President of Norwood (1920-1939) and served the SANFL
as President from 1945 to his death in 1952.
Gosse played 112 games for Norwood, captained the club in 1905, played in two premierships
(1901 & 1904) and won the club's Best & Fairest award in 1901.

A Team of the 1930s:
Coach: Walter Scott
F: Ron Brown, Bruce Schultz (vc), Eric A Johnson
HF: Alfred Biddell, Heinrich Krome, Albert 'Pongo' Sawley
C: Jack Sorrell, Bill McCallum, Perc Bice
HB: Lloyd Tugwell, Harold Page, Carlyle Thompson
B: Lavington Chinnery, Tom Woodroofe (c), H 'Tom' Warhurst
Ruck: Perc McCallum, Francis O'Brien, Harold Huxtable
Res: AR 'Bob' McLean, Hubert Heffernan, Joseph Johns