HISTORY OF NFC - 1950 - 1959

Norwood won their 22nd premiership, with 15 wins, 4 losses, and defeating Glenelg 15-16 to 8-11.
The Team:
Coach: Jack Oatey
F: Peter Dalwood, Neville Way, Peter Tilbrook
HF: Bill Pedder, Max Mayo, Doug Drage
C: Kevin 'Sam' Gallagher, Lionel Blackmore (vc), Doug Olds
HB: Bob Edwards, Alan Giles, Merv Roberts
B: Keith Le Page, Ron Reimann, Brian Burke
Ruck: John Marriott, John 'Mick' Rudd, Jack Oatey (c)
Res: Claude Gross, Ken Warren

Representatives for the Australian Carnival in Brisbane were Jack Oatey (captain), Brian Burke,
John Marriott, Doug Olds and Ron Williams.

For the first time in 17 years, the team failed to finish in the finals, winning 9 games, losing 9 and
finishing fifth.
John Marriott was awarded the Magarey Medal and two newspaper trophies and it was fitting that
having won the inaugural Magarey Medal (Alby Green 1898) the club should provide the medallist
in the Jubilee year.
Light towers were erected and the oval was used by the SA Baseball League for night matches.

Having begun the season in very slow fashion, the club did well with 12 wins and 8 losses, being
soundly defeated in the Grand Final by North Adelaide, 6-9 to 23-15.
Jack Oatey set a new club games record when he played his 176th game against West Torrens
at Thebarton Oval, August 9, retiring at the end of season with 181 games.
Kevin 'Sam' Gallagher and John Marriott were in the inaugural Advertiser Team of the Year.
Popular American cowboy Hopalong Cassidy and his white horse, Topper, entertained thousands
of fans at the Norwood Oval, a successful fund-raiser for the Crippled Children's Association.

The club finished fourth with 10 wins and 9 losses, a fair effort considering the club had lost 7
experienced players off-season, and played no fewer than 12 first year players.
Representatives for the Australian Carnival in Adelaide were John Marriott and Norman Walker.
John Marriott was selected as All-Australian in the Adelaide Carnival.
Max Mayo topped the SANFL goal kicking with 78 goals.
The Centenary Pavilion (or Western Stand) was built to accommodate the erection of flood lights.
Redex Trial "race around Australia" cars were housed at Norwood Oval for the first time.

The club won 2 of the first 9 matches but recovered to finish fourth with 9 wins and 10 matches.
Norwood lost to West Torrens by 1 point in the 1st Semi Final, 9-15 to 10-10 after leading by
27 points.
Graham Clarke was awarded the McCallum Medal for the Colts competition.
A night competition, the Advertiser Cup, was played on Norwood Oval for the first time.

After a successful season with 12 wins, 6 losses and 1 draw, Norwood defeated Port Adelaide in
the 2nd Semi Final by 24 points.
After our 2nd Semi Final success, Port Adelaide turned the tables in the Grand Final, soundly
defeating Norwood 5-8 to 15-11.
The club had the services of South Melbourne star defender Jim Taylor for the one season.
Taylor won the O'Halloran Trophy for the best player in the State game against Victoria and was
selected in the prestigious Sporting Life Team of the Year.
Fred Stewart was awarded the Reserves Magarey Medal.
Following clashes between players and spectators at the 1954 Advertiser Cup Grand Final between
Port Adelaide and West Adelaide, a player race was installed from the Sir Edwin T Smith Pavilion
to the oval.
A new scoreboard was erected by Hallweld Ltd., at the northern end of Norwood Oval
May 28th saw Norwood defeat Sturt at the Norwood Oval, 13-16 to 10-14 before a record crowd of
21,000 people.

Norwood won 10 games and lost 9, made the First Semi Final once more, but were defeated by
North Adelaide, 5-11 to 10-20.
Doug Olds played his 182nd game against Glenelg at Glenelg Oval, a new club games record.
Jack Oatey's tenure as coach came to an end. He coached the for 12 seasons (1945-56) and
won four premierships (three as coach)
John Marriott announced his retirement at only 26 years of age after 176 games for the club, and
winning every conceivable award in SA football.
Marriott was considered the greatest ruckman of his time in Australian Football.
Representatives for the Australian Carnival in Perth were Peter Aish, Bob Fosdike and Graham
Norwood won the Advertiser Cup Night Series final at Norwood Oval, defeating South Adelaide
13-20 to 6-12.
The Team:
Coach: Jack Oatey
F: Alexander 'Pat' Hall, John Marriott (c), Peter Vivian
HF: Bob Kite, Des Hoffman, Doug Young
C: Eric Butler, Peter Koerner, Doug Olds
HB: Bob Williams, Peter Aish, Alan Carlaw
B: Merv Roberts, Ron Reimann (vc), Ray Von Einem
Ruck: Graham Nicholls, John 'Horrie' Nelson, Bob Fosdike
Res: Ron Dickson, Jim Liebelt

Haydn Bunton jr, at 19 years of age, was appointed new coach of the club, but stood out of football
as a player for the season, awaiting a clearance from North Adelaide.
With 13 wins and 8 losses, Norwood were defeated in the Grand Final by Port Adelaide, 13-16 to
Doug Olds became the first Norwood player to 200 games against Glenelg at Glenelg Oval, May 25.
Olds retired with a club record of 214 games, three premierships, and three best & fairest awards.
Ron Kneebone won the 'News' Trophy for the best first year player in the league.

Although the team only won 7 games, lost 11, and drew 1, they managed to make the top 4.
Needing to win the last minor round game by at least 10 goals, Norwood defeated Glenelg at
Glenelg Oval by 77 points to make the finals.
Representatives for the Centenary Australian Carnival in Melbourne were Haydn Bunton and Brian
Infamous "Kneebone - Kretschmer" incident, v Port Adelaide at Adelaide Oval, April 25.
Kingsley 'Bill' Wedding was awarded the Reserves Magarey Medal after only 6 matches.
Norwood won the Advertiser Cup Night Series final at Norwood Oval, defeating South Adelaide
13-15 to 12-15.
The Team:
Coach: Haydn Bunton
F: Robert 'Klynton' Kitto, Ron Kneebone, Peter Minervini
HF: Wally Miller, Brian Sawley, Ian Ralston
C: Bevan Parker, Bob Kite, Merv Keenihan
HB: Des Hoffman, Peter Aish (vc), Eric Butler
B: Jim Liebelt, Gordon Crouch, Graham Nicholls
Ruck: Bill Wedding, Harley Swanbury, Haydn Bunton (c)
Res: Brian Woodhouse, Ron Salotti

Norwood appointed former St.Kilda coach Alan Killigrew to lead the club.
Finishing sixth with 7 wins and 11 losses was a good effort when you consider Norwood tried 42
players for the season, 21 were making their league debuts.

A Team of the 1950s:
Coach: Jack Oatey
F: Peter Dalwood, Max Mayo, Peter Vivian
HF: Jack Oatey (c), Norm Walker, Doug Young
C: Sam Gallagher, Lionel Blackmore, Doug Olds
HB: Bob Edwards, Peter Aish, Eric Butler
B: Merv Roberts, Ron Reimann, Bob Williams
Ruck: John Marriott (vc), Graham Nicholls, Bob Fosdike
Res: Bob Skinner, Peter Koerner, Brian Sawley