The year we suffered our first ever loss but won our third premiership


Season Review

Norwood continued its dominance of the competition, winning its third premiership in as many years.

New players included E.Barrett (Port Ad), J.Souter (returned from Victoria), and W.Morgan (Adelaide), compensating for the loss of Ted Colbey and Bill Dedman.
Joe Osborn and Alf McMichael were again elected captain and vice captain respectively, and the club's home matches continued to be played on the East Parklands.

Norwood suffered its first ever loss, but finished the season on top of the table, with 7 wins, 1 draw, and 2 losses.

The side scored 25 goals and conceded 4.

Joe Traynor had another outstanding season, and was ably supported by Joe "Curly" Pollock. Others to shine during the season included Tom Blinman, William Bracken, Frank Chapman, George Giffen, "Topsy" Waldron, Julian and Ted Woods.
Traynor was the leading goalkicker.

"Norwood was far and away the best club of the season, and its premier position was not in doubt right from the start. The strength of the dark blue and red men was very clearly apparent and no club could hope to get anywhere near them. Norwood taught the other clubs the very valuable lesson that training was required for success." *

During the season Norwood travelled to Victoria, playing matches against Carlton, Melbourne, Geelong, Hotham and South Melbourne.
The team did the state proud, beating Melboune on the MCG, and drawing its matches against Carlton and South Melbourne.

* Gyss, Trevor 1880 South Australian Football Season Records and Statistics ( Adelaide, the author, 2012)

 Page prepared by R Cialini, Aug 2012

<< Back