The year we won our fifth premiership


Season Review

Norwood continued on its remarkable run, becoming premiers for the fifth season in succession, only losing one of its 14 matches.
The Association comprised of Norwood, Port Adelaide, South Adelaide, Royal Park, South Park and Victorian.
 "Norwood commenced the season with a mixture of losses and gains. Joe Traynor, George Giffen, Fred Letchford, Joe Pollock, Julian Woods, and A. Terrell were absent ... in their place came Jim Wilson and Mahoney from Geelong, Jim [sic] Watson from Melbourne, Lyall from the South East, T.Maloney and T.Lindsay  from South Adelaide, Alex Frayne and J.Brophy from Victorian, T.Brimble from Kent Town, and Paddy Roachock from Clare " *
The better players for the year included the captain, Alfred "Topsy" Waldron ,George Bragge, Frank Chapman, William Dixon, McNamara, Paddy Roachock, Joe Traynor, and  the leading goalkicker was John "Jammy" Watson.
"Joe Traynor became the highest goalkicker for the club with 21 goals since 1878 ... and moved up to second highest Association goalkicker... Tom Blinman had the highest number of calculated Association games for the club ...*
During the season Norwood travelled to Victoria, playing matches against Melbourne (MCG), Ballarat, South Melbourne and Carlton (MCG)

* Gyss, Trevor 1882 South Australian Football Season Records and Statistics ( Adelaide, the author, 2012)

Page prepared by R Cialini, Aug 2012

<< Back