The year we won our fourth premiership


Season Review

Norwood's amazing run continued with the club claiming its fourth premiership in a row.

The Association comprised of Adelaide, Kensington, Norwood, Port Adelaide, South Adelaide, South Park and Victorian.

The team went through the season undefeated, winning 10 matches and
drawing 3.

Starting the season without many of its star players of the previous year, the club had been able to recruit  George Bragge (Carlton), Micale Coffee, Tom Cullinan, W.Duffy, W.Longden (Melbourne), McNamara (Victoria).

Joe Traynor continued his very fine form, as did Joe Pollock, and "Topsy" Waldron. Other prominent contributors included Tom Blinman, George Bragge, Micale Coffee, Richard Coonan, William Dixon, F.Letchford, W.Longden, McNamara, S.McKee and Julian Woods. Joe Pollock and W.Duffy shared the goalkicking honours.

Joe Osborn started the season as skipper, but was later replaced by "Topsy" Waldron.*

"Norwood achieved its fourth consecutive premiership in an extremely powerful manner. The reigning triple premiers were stronger than ever, and always favourite to win the Fowler Cup in spite of the fact it had lost a number of core members of its 1880 premier team...

Norwood achieved the second highest Association winning run with 13 unbeaten games in the season, behind its 31 game unbeaten streak which ended in the final stages of the 1880 season" *

 * Gyss, Trevor 1881 South Australian Football Season Records and Statistics ( Adelaide, the author, 2012)

Page prepared by R Cialini, Aug 2012

<< Back